A Sturdy, Easy to Build Brooding Pen

We bought some heritage turkeys this summer. Penciled Palm, Mottled Black, and Blue Slate. They weren’t big enough to send out to the big pen, so I built this brooding pen in about an hour.

I probably could have built it in half the time had my tools been set up and I wasn’t creating the plans as I built it. Overall, I’m pleased with how the pen turned out. It keeps the birds safe, and it is also sturdy and affordable = all criteria for the pen.

Sorry, no plans for this one since I basically just created it ad hoc. If any of you express interest, I may scribble something out. But hopefully the pictures provided below will be enough for you to figure it out.

The dimensions of the box are 4 feet by 2 feet by 3 feet tall. I also drilled several holes in the bottom to allow for drainage should the water ever spill…which happens more often that I like with birds.

The lid just rests on the top of the box. You could easily add hinges if you have them.

How do the birds like it? They love it. 

Materials: One 5/8 sheet of OSB. Four 2x4x8 and one 2x4x12. Scrap chicken wire. Nailes and screws.

~ by Clearwater Hackle on September 26, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
