Cabinet and Carcase Squaring Blocks

Once in a while you stumble across a really smart solution. Here is a fool-proof way to square up boxes, cabinets, or carcases. I tried it and loved it. These squaring blocks are easy to make. Even easier to use. And they cost you nothing.

In fact, I’ve lost the original ones I made, but that doesn’t bother me. I’ll make more the next time I need them.

It seems like I originally found this tip on another website. If that was the case, then the site has since been discontinued. Luckily I have since found the idea on WoodZone’s site, so you can check it out there. I’m also posting the tip on my blog as a backup in the event WoodZone decides to remove that page.

Have you have ever built a box or cabinet? Then you know how difficult it can be to square it up, and keep it that way while the glue dries. These blocks are simbblocks1ple to make and worth their weight in gold!

Step 1
Cut an 8″or 10″ square from scrap 3/4″ plywood.

Step 2
Use a dado blade or router to cut a 1/2″ deep groove 3/4″ wide down the center of the block.

Step 3
Cut or rout another groove perpendicular to the first.

Step 4
Use a hole saw or large spade bit to drill a 1-1/2″ – 2″ hole in the middle of the board, at the intersection of the two grooves. This hole will aid in alignment and help remove excess glue.

TIP:
A coat of polyurethane or varnish will help to keep glue from sticking to the blocks during setup.bblock

~ by Clearwater Hackle on December 27, 2007.

One Response to “Cabinet and Carcase Squaring Blocks”

  1. sweet idea. I could see how this would save a lot of time and be more accurate than the way I’m doign it now.

Leave a comment