Inspiration for the Lathe

Have you ever looked at a lathe project that made your jaw drop? I usually have three standard reactions when I’ve come across the work of a master turner:

  1. I never knew you could make something like that.
  2. Maybe after years of practice I could try something like that.
  3. I’m not worthy to even attempt something like that.

I enjoy looking at good art. It inspires me and often motivates me to push myself and try new things (if it doesn’t completely overwhelm me).

The purpose of this gallery is to offer inspiration from some of the great lathe pieces others have created. Most of these pictures come from The American Association of Woodturners website. Some are from David Sengel’s site, who is perhaps one of the most accomplished turners today. There are many other amazing pieces on those websites, so I encourage you to visit them sometime.

Please send me your favorites and I will include them in the gallery.

[Update: New gallery format updated Dec 08]

~ by Clearwater Hackle on November 10, 2004.

Leave a Reply

 
